· 

Exhaustion

By Casey Costello

 

Exhaustion is

A river that will drown me 

A force that will pull me under its control

A shadow always lurking behind me

A toll everyone must pay

It used to be different

I used to be free

Exhaustion didn’t follow me 

I was in the sun

Not the dark

But my days are full

I don’t have time to be in the sun

There is lots expected from me

That I can’t give

And when I do have time

It’s spent waiting

Waiting for a time when I can see them more

Because we’ve been separated

And it feels like I’m alone

Apart from them

Even though there’s plenty of others

And when they do come

I’m dragged down by the river

Not who I used to be

Will there be a time when exhaustion isn’t

A river that will drown me

A force that will pull me under its control

A shadow always lurking behind me

A toll that everyone must pay?

Maybe

But for now

I don’t know

Subscribe to our articles!

* indicates required